T20 World Cup 2022: All You Need To Know

Read on to learn everything there is to know about the T20 World Cup 2022. Learn about previous winners, the venue, and other details here.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 will be the eighth edition of the tournament. The ICC T20 2022 World Cup will be held in Australia from October 16 to November 13.

The defending champions of the 2022 T20 World Cup are Australia. In the 2021 T20 World Cup final, they defeated New Zealand.

So, What is T20 World Cup 2022 Team List?

The ICC T20 World Cup 2022 will feature a total of 16 teams. Eight teams have already qualified for the Super 12 round. To advance to the Super 12 round, the other eight teams will have to play qualifying matches.

Out of the eight teams, four will advance to the Super 12 rounds. The teams that have already qualified for the Super 12 round are:

  1. India
  2. Australia
  3. New Zealand
  4. England
  5. Pakistan
  6. Bangladesh
  7. South Africa
  8. Afghanistan

The following eight teams will have to play qualifying matches first:

  1. Sri Lanka
  2. Zimbabwe
  3. Netherlands
  4. Ireland
  5. Scotland
  6. West Indies
  7. Namibia
  8. UAE

Now, Who Won the First T20 World Cup?

In 2007, South Africa hosted the first-ever ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. It was a very successful edition of the cricket game. The Indian cricket team won the inaugural ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

The Indian team defeated Pakistan in the tournament’s final. Throughout the tournament, the Indian team displayed brilliant tempo and quality cricket.

Yuvraj Singh was the tournament’s best batsman. He had scored the tournament’s fastest fifty in just 12 balls against England.

Yuvraj Singh’s six sixes in an over made the ICC T20 World Cup 2007 famous. Yuvraj Singh hit six sixes in Stuart Broad’s first over.

The Indian cricket team was led by M.S. Dhoni. Under M.S. Dhoni’s captaincy, India played fearless cricket and won the World Cup.

T20 World Cup 2022 Groups:

These eight teams are divided into two categories: A and B. The top two teams in each group will advance to the Super 12 round. The groups are as follows:

Group 1:

  1. Namibia
  3. Sri Lanka
  4. United Arab Emirates

Group 2:

  1. Ireland
  2. Scotland
  3. West Indies
  4. Zimbabwe

The Sri Lankan and West Indian cricket teams have the advantage and experience of competing in major tournaments. They should have no trouble qualifying for the Super 12 round.

The Super 12 teams are divided into two groups, A and B. The groups are as follows:

Group A:

  1. Afghanistan
  3. England
  4. New Zealand
  5. A1
  6. B2

Group B:

  1. INDIA
  3. South Africa
  4. Bangladesh
  5. B1
  6. A2

The Indian cricket team is the strongest contender to finish first in Group B, while Group A is strong. All of the teams in Group A are very strong, and there will be a healthy battle in Group A compared to Group B.

The Indian team will benefit from playing in Australia. The Indian players are acquainted with the pitch type, ground measurement, and weather conditions.

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Venue:

The T20 World Cup 2022 will be held in Australia, with a total of four venues hosting 45 matches. The locations are:

  1. Adelaide Oval
  2. Brisbane Cricket Ground (The Gabba)
  3. Kardinia Park, Geelong
  4. Bellerive Oval, Hobart
  5. Perth Stadium
  6. Melbourne Cricket Ground
  7. Sydney Cricket Ground

T20 World Cup Winners list:

West Indies has had the most success in the ICC T20 World Cup. They won two editions, the first in 2012 when they defeated Sri Lanka in the final, and the second in 2016 when they defeated England. In 2007, India won the inaugural edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

The top two teams that have never won the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup are South Africa and New Zealand. They are hoping to win the championship this time.

Views on India squad for T20 world cup:

Few could have predicted how Team India would fare in the 2022 Asia Cup. To address the elephant in the room right away, Rohit Sharma’s men’s campaign was a colossal failure.

The team completely fizzled out after an extremely promising start in the first round. Flashes from the previous World T20 were visible, as the team appeared jaded, confused, and, of course, completely out of ideas.

India’s ever-flamboyant T20I team skipper Rohit Sharma easily dismissed the disaster, referring to it as a trial run for the World T20 instead. With both eyes on the title and only a week, until the preliminary 15 are announced, the focus is on what the Indian think tank decides.

While the usual suspects are expected to fill the majority of the slots, fierce competition for the remaining spots is expected.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Bangladeshi Betting Sites

Deposit ৳1,000 Get Free ৳2,000


Cashback up to ৳10,00,000


100% Deposit up to ৳20,000


Sign up ৳300 Free Credit

Crickex BDT

Cashback Up to ৳5,00,000